Skintrade – Biography

Swedish hard rockers SKINTRADE released their new album, ̈Scarred For Life, 2015-07-24 via AOR Heaven. An album packed with excellent songwriting , scorching guitar-riffs and soulful rock-vocals that has always been Skintrade ́s trademark. Once again the album was recorded and mixed by Oscar Ammer. This time Skintrade also worked with producer Geo Slam on the song Wide Awake originally recorded by Katy Perry.  ̈- We wanted to do something special on this record and I came across this song and instantly liked it, ̈says Matti Alfonzetti,lead vocalist. -Ït had that quality we were looking for in a cover and we felt we could deliver a version true to what Skintrade stands for and still pay our respect to one of Sweden ́s most outstanding songwriters and producers,Max Martin ̈The band is currently shooting a video for this track to be relased late this summer.Working with producer Geo Slam was also a highlight .

̈-Geo had a different approach to what we usually go for and the result was awsome ̈.

According to SKINTRADE, the band’s new album represents “Focus on songs and musicianship and a natural follow up to the previous album ̈Refueled ̈.

“Our focus always was and always will be on the songwriting and the ferocious riffs and grooves to match,” says the group.

Added singer Matti Alfonzetti: “This time we started writing almost within a week after the release of Refueled ,that ́s how inspired we were to continue releasing good song and to show our fans that we are in it for the longhaul.

“We’re really proud of the new album and we definitely feel that this is our best effort so far.

“We can’t wait to get out on the road again and meet our old friends and to make new ones.”

Scarred For Life track listing:

01. Scarred for Life


03. Wide Awake

04. Lay With Me

05. Find A Way

06. LoveHate

07. Leave A Scar

08. Broken

09. Storm Will Come

10. 15 Minutes Gone

Skintrade are currently on tour in Europe to promote ̈Scarred For Life ̈and

plan to tour extensively throughout 2015.


SKINTRADE was formed in 1992 by Matti Alfonzetti (vocals), George Bravo (guitar, backing vocals), Stefan Bergström (guitar, backing vocals), Hakan Calmroth (bass) and Håkan Persson (drums, backing vocals). The group’s self-titled debut was released in 1993 and received overwhelmingly positive respnse from both media and audience. The singles “Sick As A Dog” and “One By One” were played frequently on the radio and their videos spun on MTV‘s “Headbangers Ball”. The same year, SKINTRADE was honored with a Zeppelin award for “Best Hard Rock Album” and was nominated for a Swedish Grammis (Grammy equivalent) in the category of “Best Video.” The follow-up CD, “Roach Powder”, came out in 1995 with Thomas Skogsberg as a producer (ENTOMBED, DISMEMBER). The videos for the singles “Snap Goes Your Mind” and “Flies” were played regularly on MTV.

Between 1993 and 1995, SKINTRADE embarked on several tours of Europe and played at some of Sweden’s and Europe’s biggest festivals such as Sweden Rock, Hultsfred, Dala Rock, Dynamo Open Air (Holland) and Rock Am Ring (Germany). SKINTRADE also supported the Danish band D-A-D on their European tour in 1995. One of their last and most memorable gigs took place in late 1995 with the Irish band THERAPY? during a live radio show in Amsterdam, Netherlands. SKINTRADE disbanded shortly thereafter.

The idea for the SKINTRADE members to collaborate again came about as they got more and more requests from fans asking them to make new music. During the first rehearsal in May 2011, it became obvious that the band’s chemistry was very much intact.

In the summer and autumn of 2011, SKINTRADE recorded four new songs at Sound Trade Studios with their old friend and partner Ronny Lahti, engineer and producer who previously worked with the band on all the recordings in the ’90s.

SKINTRADE‘s “best-of” album, “Past And Present”, was released in March 2012 via Universal Music. The CD includes three new songs and 12 classics.


SKINTRADE released their comeback album, “Refueled”, on February 28, 2014 via AOR Heaven. The CD was recorded at SKINTRADE‘s studio and mixed by Oscar Ammer, frontman and songwriter of STEREOLITH, at Echobox Studio in Stockholm.

According to SKINTRADE, the band’s new album represents “everything they stood for in the past, and exactly where they are musically at the present.”

“Refueled” track listing:

01. Monster
 02. Liar
 03. Pay In Blood
 04. Hardcore MF Heartattack
 05. Close My Eyes 
06. Getting Away With Murder 
07. Mountain
 08. Been To The Bottom
 09. Worse Than Wasted 
10. Dying In Your Arms
 11. Wild One
 12. Look Me In The Eye

SKINTRADE 2015 is:

Matti Alfonzetti – Vocals, Guitar

Stefan Bergström – Guitar, Backing Vocals

Håkan Calmroth – Bass

Håkan Persson – Drums, Backing Vocals